top of page

Madonna di Campiglio Night Slalom Race Preview

Madonna di Campiglio is the oldest Italian World Cup venue, as they hold a Slalom in 1966/67, the year of the foundation of the World Cup. More than 50 years later, the event is still running and attracting thousands of people for the traditional night race on the 22nd of December.

After the fabulous last editions the 3Tre, among the most historical competitions of the White Circus, gets back as a fixed stage on the Canalone Miramonti slope.

On December 22. 2021 the lights will turn on again on Canalone Miramonti, which hosts the 68th edition of the 3Tre Fis Ski World Cup Men's Night Slalom.


Slalom. Wednesday, December 22nd. 1st run 17:45; 2nd run 20:45 (CET)

Last season Henrik Kristoffersen took the win on the famous "Canalone Miramonti" in Madonna di Campiglio. He finished in 12th position in the opening run, 1.25 seconds off the leader but after an impressive second run, he was able to climb to the top of the podium.

This was his third win (2015, 2016, and 2020) at this venue.

Kristoffersen was joined on the podium by his teammate Sebastian Foss-Solevaag +0.33 behind and Alex Vinatzer +0.34 off the pace.

Only Ingemar Stenmark (5) has won more World Cup slalom events in Madonna di Campiglio. Kristoffersen has won 19 World Cup slalom events, ranking him fourth on the

men's list behind Stenmark (40), Alberto Tomba (35) and Marcel Hirscher (32).

Clément Noël won the first men's World Cup Slalom event of the 2021-2022 season in Val d'Isère. He can become the first man to win the two opening slalom events of a season since Marcel Hirscher in 2018-2019.

Noël can win consecutive slalom events in the World Cup for the second time, after winning in Wengen and Kitzbühel in January 2019. The last man to claim back-to-back World Cup slalom victories was Daniel Yule in January 2020.

The Frenchman claimed nine World Cup wins in the slalom. Among Frenchmen, only Jean Noël Augert (13) and Patrick Russel (9) have won as many.

Noël claimed one of his 16 World Cup podiums in the men's slalom in Madonna di Campiglio, a third place in January 2020. He can become the first Frenchman to win a World Cup slalom event in Madonna since Patrice Bianchi on15 December 1992.

Marco Schwarz won the Slalom crystal globe in the 2020-2021 World Cup. It marked a record-extending 16th win for Austria in the men's slalom standings.

The last two male skiers to successfully defend their slalom crystal globe were from Austria: Thomas Sykora (1996-1997 and 1997/98) and Marcel Hirscher (2012-2013 / 2014-2015 and 2016-2017 / 2018-2019).

Schwarz recorded his first podium finish in a men's World Cup slalom event in Madonna di Campiglio, a third-place on 22 December 2015. He also finished second in Madonna on 22 December 2018.

Sebastian Foss Solevåg's two slalom wins at the world level both came in 2021, in the World Cup in Flachau on 17 January and at the World Championships in Cortina d'Ampezzo on 21 February.

Solevåg can become the second Norwegian man to achieve three slalom victories at the world level in a single calendar year, after Kristoffersen: three in 2015, six in 2016, three in 2017.

Kristoffer Jakobsen earned his first Slalom World Cup podium finish in the opening race of the season, finishing second in Val d'Isère.

Filip Zubcic became the second skier representing Croatia to finish on the podium in a men's World Cup slalom event when he claimed third place in the opening race in Val d'Isère on 12 December.

Last season Ramon Zenhäusern won the opening slalom event in the World Cup, in Alta Badia on 21 December. It was his second World Cup win in the slalom, after his victory in Kranjska Gora in 2019.

Manuel Feller closed the 2020-2021 World Cup season with a victory, winning the last slalom race of the season in Lenzerheide. He beats Clement Noel by a slim 0.08 seconds and Overall World Cup winner Alexis Pinturault by 0.11 seconds in a very tight race.

Feller gained a lot of self-confidence after finishing third and fifth in the Giant Slalom races in Alta Badia and third in Val d'Isère.

Last season, seven different skiers have claimed a World Cup win in the slalom. Not since 2008-2009 have there been seven different slalom winners in the men's World Cup. The record number of slalom winners in a single World Cup season is nine, achieved in 1985-1986 and 1999-2000.

Ramon Zenhaeusern (Alta Badia, December 21)

Henrik Kristoffersen (Madonna, December 22 and Chamonix, January 31)

Linus Strasser (Zagreb, January 6)

Marco Schwarz (Adelboden, January 10 and Schladming January 26)

Manuel Feller (Flachau, January 16 and Lenzerheide, March 21)

Sebastian Foss-Solevåg (Flachau, January 17)

Clément Noël (Chamonix, January 30 and Kranjska Gora, March 14)


Ski Paradise
bottom of page