top of page

Schladming Preview

Schladming is a small former mining town in the northwest of the Austrian state of Styria.

The ski resort named Planai is the main mountain in the Schladming area. It is one of four adjoining mountains, which includes Hauser Kaibling, Hochwurzen, and Reiteralm, connected under the name Schladminger 4-Berge-Schaukel a ski area of 123 km of beautifully prepared pistes.

The Schladming-Dachstein World Championship Region has held various skiing competitions, including most notably the FIS Alpine World Ski Championships 1982 and the FIS Alpine World Ski Championships 2013.

Schladming-Dachstein is part of the Ski Amadé ski domain, a network of 28 ski areas and towns that combined, make up the second-largest ski area in Europe. With only one lift pass you can ski on 760 kilometers of slopes served 270 modern lifts, spread out throughout the top five ski regions of Salzburger Sportwelt, Schladming-Dachstein (including the Dachstein Glacier at 2,700 m), Gastein, Hochkönig, and Grossarltal.

Every year on the Tuesday after Kitzbühel, Schladming stages his traditional Night Slalom.

The Night Race in Schladming is a unique experience. Over 45,000 fans are cheering for the best Slalom athletes in the World and pushing them down the steep Planai course. But this season is going to be completely different without spectators.

The six Men's Slalom events this World Cup season have been won by six different skiers: Ramon Zenhäusern (Alta Badia), Henrik Kristoffersen (Madonna di Campiglio), Linus Straßer (Zagreb), Marco Schwarz (Adelboden), Manuel Feller (Flachau, January 16) and Sebastian Foss Solevåg (Flachau, January 17).

The previous World Cup season in which there were at least six different Men's Slalom winners was in 2014-2015 (6). Not since 2008-2009 (7) have there been seven different slalom winners in the men's World Cup. The record number of slalom winners in a single World Cup season is nine, achieved in 1985-1986 and 1999-2000.

The last seven slalom events in the men's World Cup have been won by seven different skiers, as Clément Noël won the final slalom World Cup of the 2019-2020 season in Chamonix.

Sebastian Foss Solevåg won the most recent slalom event in the World Cup, the second event in Flachau.

Marco Schwarz (389 points) and Manuel Feller (324 points) are leading the Men's Slalom standings this season. Both men claimed their first career World Cup slalom victory this season. Schwarz triumphed in Adelboden and Feller in the first event in Flachau.

Marco Schwarz (5) has collected the most men's slalom podiums this World Cup season. He only failed to record a top-three finish in Madonna di Campiglio, where he came ninth.

Austrian men have won 13 of the 26 World Cup slalom events held in Schladming.

Henrik Kristoffersen has won 18 World Cup slalom events, ranking him fourth all-time among men behind Ingemar Stenmark (40), Alberto Tomba (35), and Marcel Hirscher (32).

Of Kristoffersen's six slalom wins in Austria, four came in Schladming. The Norwegian shares the record of most World Cup slalom wins in Schladming with Benjamin Raich (4).

Last season, without Marcel Hirscher, was again the time for Henrik Kristoffersen who earned his fourth World Cup win in Schladming, over his contenders Alexis Pinturault (second +0.34) and Daniel Yule (third +0.83).

In 2019, Marcel Hirscher earned a third World Cup win in Schladming, with over a second over his contenders Alexis Pinturault and Daniel Yule.

Challenged by the young guns in the last races, in Schladming Marcel Hirscher made a statement, leading with -0.99 after the first run and finishing -1.21 off his closest contender. It was the 68th and last World Cup victory for the Austrian superstar.


Ski Paradise
bottom of page