top of page

Lara Gut-Behrami and Vicent Kriechmayr Claims the 2020-2021 Super-G World Cup Title

After two delays, due to the current weather situation with the fog the Jury, together with the Lenzerheide organizing committee, the Swiss Ski Federation, and all the stakeholders, have decided to cancel today’s Women’s and Men’s World Cup Final Super-G.

Like in 2011, both speed events, The Downhill and the Super-G must be canceled, and as a result of that, the current leaders of the Super-G standings, Lara Gut-Behrami and Vincent Kriechmayr will be honored as Winner of the Super-G World Cup.

As a fact, with her second place in the last race held in Val di Fassa Lara Gut-Behrami had secured the Super-G discipline globe. It was her eighth straight World Cup podium.

It is the third time Gut-Behrami win the Super-G crystal globe after 2013-2014 and 2015-2016. Among women, only Lindsey Vonn (5), Katja Seizinger (5), Carole Merle (4), and Renate Götschl (3) have already achieved this.

Gut-Behrami finished in the top-two in each of the last five World Cup super-G events. She set a run of four wins in a row before she came runner-up in Val di Fassa on 28 February.

She has claimed 16 World Cup victories in the Super-G, ranking her in third place on the women's list alongside Katja Seizinger (16). Only Lindsey Vonn (28) and Renate Götschl (17) have won more women's Super-G races in the World Cup.

Lara Gut-Behrami, who had won 30 World Cup races without a major gold medal entering Cortina 2021, claimed the Super-G title as the heavy pre-race favorite, then took bronze in Downhill behind teammate Suter and won a surprise gold in Giant Slalom.


FIS World Cup Starts: 297

FIS World Cup Podiums: 60

FIS World Cup Victories: 32 (11 Downhill, 16 Super-G, 4 Giant Slalom, and 1 Alpine Combined)

Women's Downhill World Cup Final Standings

  1. Lara Gut-Behrami 525

  2. Federica Brignone 323

  3. Corinne Suter 310

  4. Tamara Tippler 272

  5. Ester Ledecka 236

Vincent Kriechmayr joins a group of six men who have won the men's Super-G crystal globe and the world title in this discipline in the same season - Pirmin Zurbriggen (1986-1987), Åtle Skårdal (1995-1996), Hermann Maier (1998-1999), Stephan Eberharter (2002-2003), Bode Miller (2004-2005), and Dominik Paris (2018-2019).

The last Austrian man to win the Super-G crystal globe was Hannes Reichelt in 2007-2008.

It is his first crystal globe in any discipline. He finished second in the Super-G standings in each of the last three World Cup seasons.

Kriechmayr has missed the Super-G title last season when he finished behind Mauro Caviezel, by just three points when the season was canceled following the outbreak of the coronavirus.

He finished on the podium in each of the last four Super-G events in the World Cup. Kriechmayr won two Super-G races this World Cup season: in Kitzbühel and Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

Vincent Kriechmayr added the Downhill to his Super-G title, joining Hermann Maier (Vail/Beaver Creek, 1999) and Bode Miller (Bormio/Santa Caterina, 2005) as the only men to do the speed double at the same world championships.


FIS World Cup Starts: 154

FIS World Cup Podiums: 21

FIS World Cup Victories: 9 (3 Downhill, 6 Super-G)

Men's Downhill World Cup Final Standings

  1. Vincent Kriechmayr 401

  2. Marco Odermatt 318

  3. Matthias Mayer 276

  4. Mauro Caviezel 225

  5. Aleksander Aamodt Kilde 172


Ski Paradise
bottom of page